Lieberman elected to national board

Debbie Lieberman

Debbie Lieberman

DAYTON — Montgomery County Commissioner Debbie Lieberman of Clayton has been elected by the County Commissioners Association of Ohio to serve on the National Association of Counties (NACo) Board of Directors. Commissioner Lieberman is one of two County Commissioners from Ohio elected to the NACo Board of Directors.

The National Association of Counties (NACo) unites America’s 3,069 county governments. Founded in 1935, NACo brings county officials together to advocate with a collective voice on national policy, exchange ideas and build new leadership skills, pursue transformational county solutions, enrich the public’s understanding of county government, and exercise exemplary leadership in public service.

“CCAO and NACo are essential tools that assist county governments to deliver services to our citizens in the most effective ways possible. I look forward to bringing the best of Ohio to NACo and bring the best tools from around the county to Ohio and Montgomery County,” Lieberman said. “I’m honored that I was elected by CCAO to represent Ohio on a national level.”

Each year, NACo conducts a Legislative Conference in Washington, D.C. Commissioner Lieberman will be officially sworn-in at the February 2016 conference. The conference allows county commissioners from around the country to gather and set legislative priorities for Congress for the year and to interact with legislators from their home states.

“The NACo legislative conference is a great way for counties to speak with one voice on issues that are critical to county government such as infrastructure and roadway funding, early childhood education and social services delivery,” Lieberman added.

Lieberman is a past president of the CCAO Board of Directors and was named as the 2014 Regional Leader of the Year by the Dayton Business Journal. In addition, she was appointed by Governor John Kasich to serve on the Ohio Local Government Innovation Fund Council, the Ohio Housing Trust Fund Committee and she serves on the Supreme Court Task Force on the Future Funding of Ohio Courts.

Debbie Lieberman Lieberman
Commissioner to represent CCAO on National Association of Counties Board of Directors

Staff Report

Reach the Montgomery County Commissioners office at (937) 225-4690.